EWSN 2016

International Conference on Embedded Wireless Systems and Networks

February 15. – 17. 2016, TU Graz, Austria

NextMote: Next Generation Platforms for the Cyber-Physical Internet


The hardware for networked embedded systems and Internet of Things (IoT) has evolved significantly over the last decades. During this time two major classes of platforms have emerged for network gathering and processing of sensor data: so called "motes" that are based on a micro controller and well suited for prototyping and testing hypotheses and solutions in the field, and smartphones as ubiquitous and powerful yet mobile communications and computing platforms already adopted by wide population. However, as the number of devices and applications continue growing in numbers and reducing in size, novel, superior platforms should emerge. Let us call these new platforms "NextMote".

This workshop would like to ask the question: what comes after motes and smartphones for the communication and computation needs in the world of IoT and remote distributed sensing. What will be the NextMote platform?

Some challenges will remain: prolonging the lifetime of the network nodes, minimizing the power consumption, providing sufficient communications and processing power. Are there more challenges and how to tame them, for example, the challenges due to minimizing the size of the devices, increasing the number of nodes dramatically, and sensing large streams of data in resource constrained environment. How to survive extreme environments and applications while doing no harm, such as NextMotes on and in the human body, volcano, or space. The workshop raises these questions in the terms of novel hardware platform and associate firmware and software design and development, for prototyping and for end-user systems.


The workshop will consist of a keynote, presentations of short papers and an open discussion session. The short papers can be of a technical nature, presenting preliminary results, or position papers presenting a thought-provoking view regarding architectures, design methods or tools for the novel NextMote platforms.

The workshop focuses on the aspects related to platform design in the context of NextMote. Topics covered by the workshop include, but are not limited to:

  • Modular, multi-core, multi-radio, and reconfigurable architectures for NextMote
  • Devices for novel communication: dense, sparse, and directional coverage
  • Pushing NextMote towards battery-less operation: energy harvesting, storage, and transfer
  • Pushing the size of NextMote towards "smart dust", ultra-thin, and stretchable
  • Unconventional form factors and packaging: wearable, on-body, printable NextMotes
  • Surviving extreme environments and leaving no trace: bio-degradable, digestible, disposable NextMotes
  • Robust and redundant design for NextMote health, reliability and self healing
  • Design, evaluation and profiling tools, and next level testbeds for NextMote
  • Hardware assisted security and privacy in resource constrained devices
  • Low-level software, firmware, operating systems for NextMote
  • Ultra low-cost hardware and deployments at large
  • Nature inspired (passive) mobility, NextMotes as seeds or pollen

Submission Instructions

Formatting requirements. The papers will be published as part of the conference proceedings and will appear in the ACM Digital Library. We encourage submissions from academia and industry alike. The papers can have a maximum length of 6 pages (two column format).

NEW: The workshop now also accepts short position papers with a maximum length of two pages in the same format.

Papers must be submitted online via EasyChair.

Pages must have 8.5" x 11" (letter) two-column format, using 10-point type on 11-point leading, with a maximum text block of 7" wide x 9" deep with an intercolumn spacing of .25". The page limits include figures, tables, and references. Authors may use the LaTeX templates provided here


Workshop Chair:

Leo Selavo, University of Latvia


Marcel Baunach (TU Graz, Austria)
Pai Chou (UC Irvine, USA)
Prabal Dutta (University of Michigan, USA)
Roozbeh Jafari (Texas A&M University, USA)
Peter Langendörfer (IHP Microelectronics, Germany)
Joseph Paradiso (MIT,USA)
Massimo Poncino (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Amir Taherkordi (University of Oslo, Norway)

Important Dates

no news in this list.